Dana Guitar Association

Thank you for visiting the Dana Guitar Association of Youngstown State University. We are a non-profit student organization that is devoted to the promotion and awareness of the classical and jazz guitar in Youngstown, Northeastern Ohio, and Western Pennsylvania. We present several concerts, clinics, and masterclasses every season by students, faculty, and internationally acclaimed guest artists at the Dana School of Music.

Like us on Facebook


News 2018-2019

  • Our 2018-2019 concert season will feature performances and masterclasses by acclaimed classical and jazz guitarists including:
    • Tengyue Zhang (China-- Winner of the 2017 Guitar Foundation of America International Classical Guitar Competition)
    • Zvonimir Tot (University of Illinois at Chicago and Jamey Aebersold Summer Workshops)
    • Stephen Mattingly (University of Louisville, KY)
    • Dan Wilson (Grammy Award Nominee and YSU alumnus)
    • Sheryl Bailey (Berklee College of Music)

Recent YSU Guitar Student Successes PDF

Scholarships, Graduate Assistantships, Tuition Information

There are many scholarships available to undergraduate and graduate guitar students at YSU, and graduate assistantships are also available to guitar students pursuing a Master's degree. Further, YSU has one of the lowest tuition rates in Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania.

Classical and jazz guitarists who have performed and taught masterclasses at YSU.

  • Julian Lage (3 time Grammy Award nominee) 2018
  • Elliot Frank (East Carolina University) 2018
  • Xavier Jara (USA, GFA winner) 2017
  • Dave Stryker (Indiana University-Bloomington and The Aebersold Summer Jazz Workshop)
  • Peter Bernstein (NYC) 2017
  • Patrick Kearney (Canada) 2017
  • Thibaut Garcia (France, GFA winner) 2016
  • Ben Monder (Guitarist on David Bowie's last CD Blackstar) 2016
  • Ekachai Jearakul (Thailand, GFA winner)2016
  • Tim Miller (Berklee College of Music) 2016
  • Brad Shepik (New England Conservatory) 2015
  • Andrew Zohn (Columbus State University, Georgia) 2015
  • Dan Wilson (YSU alumnus) 2015
  • Anton Baranov (Russia, GFA winner) 2015
  • Sharpe/Zohn Guitar Duo (Columbus State University, Georgia) 2014
  • Ben Monder (New England Conservatory of Music) 2014
  • Bruce Saunders (Berklee College of Music, University of Texas-Austin) 2014
  • Mary Akerman (Kennesaw State University, GFA winner) 2014
  • Jeffrey McFadden (University of Toronto, Canada) 2013
  • Vladimir Gorbach (Russia, GFA winner) 2013
  • Joe Negri (USA) 2012, 2013
  • Johannes Möller (Sweden, GFA winner) 2012
  • Duo Spiritoso: Andrew Zohn (USA) and Jeff McFadden (Canada) 2011
  • Florian Larousse (France, GFA winner) 2011
  • Jérôme Ducharme (Canada, GFA winner) 2010
  • Gabriel Bianco (France, GFA winner) 2010
  • Stephen Aron (Oberlin Conservatory) 2009
  • Marcin Dylla (Poland, GFA winner) 2009
  • Robert Gruca (USA) 2009
  • Andrew Mah (Canada) 2008
  • Ioana Gandrabur (Romania/Canada) 2008
  • Thomas Viloteau (France, GFA winner) 2008

Dana Guitar Quartet (Christopher Mrofchak, Ben Dague, Michael Reardon, Philip Monrean) Youngstown State University, directed by Dr. Francois Fowler

Youngstown State University jazz guitar duo (Nicholas Frank and Dan Mihelarakis) performs Spain by Chick Corea. Recorded by the Youngstown State University Department of Communication on December 10, 2018.



The following people and organizations have generously supported the Dana Guitar Association's 2018-2019 concert season. We sincerely thank our fine sponsors for their support.

  • Anthony and Barbara Buzzacco
  • Dr. Pietro Pascale and John M. Pascale, luthier
  • David and Joanne Rich
  • Victoria's Auth's Music Lesson's for Us All (Poland)
  • Student Government Association of YSU